Visa Fee

Visa Fee

Visa can be obtained on arrival at the Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu, at border entry points in Kakadvitta, Birgunj, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj, Gaddachowki on Nepal-India border and Kodari on Nepal- China border. Visa can also be obtained at the nearest Nepal Embassy or Diplomatic Mission. Visa can also be obtained (renewal purposes) at Department of Immigration, Kalikasthan, Kathmandu.A valid passport and one passport -size photo with a light background is required. Immigration Department has not specified the size of the passport-size photo.
Visa can be obtained only through payment of cash in the following currency:Euro, Swiss Franc, Pound Sterling, US Dollar, Australian Dollar, Canadian Dollar, Hong Kong Dollar, Singapore Dollar and Japanese Yen.Credit card, Indian currency and Nepali currency are not accepted as payment of visa fee.

a. Tourist Visa

Visa Facility             Duration            Fee  

Multiple entry           15 days            US$ 25 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple entry           30 days            US$ 40 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple entry           90 days            US$ 100 or equivalent convertible currency

Note: For Mountaineer would suggest to take Multiple entry visa of 3 months with US$ 100. 

b. Indian nationals do not require visa to enter into Nepal.

c. For Indian National

Indian nationals do not require visa to enter Nepal.
As per the Nepalese Immigration, Indian Nationals Traveling to Nepal must posses any One ofthefollowingdocuments:
1.      Passport
2.      DrivingLicensewithphoto
3.      PhotoIdentitycard issued by a Government Agency
4.       Ration Card with Photo
5.       Election Commission Card with Photo
6.       Identity Card issued by Embassy of India in Kathmandu
7.       Identity Card with Photo issued by Sub- Divisional Magistrate or any other officials above his rank

Also, please check with your nearest travel agents for documents required by the Indian Immigration for Indians traveling to Nepal.

d. Other Information
Nationals from Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan will need to obtain visa from Nepal Embassies or Diplomatic Missions in their respective countries, as they do not get visa on arrival at the immigration entry points of Nepal.

e. Visa Extension

Visa can extend by paying US$ 30 for 15 days ( minimum) and additional US$ 2 per day. 

Tourists can stay for a maximum of 150 days visa within a year (Jan 1 to Dec 31).

For further information, please contact:
Department of Immigration
Kalikasthan, Kathmandu
Tel            : 00977-1- 4429660/ 4438862/ 4438868/ 4433934
E-mail      : [email protected]
Web site  :